Ya-Wen Fu “Metamorphose”

Ya-Wen Fu “Metamorphose”

Interactive installation performance
Metal, wood, leather, acrylic glass, motor and sensor
2019-2021

Ya-Wen Fu designs unsentimentally aseptic media spaces in which straps become vectors and screens and other artifacts of media art stand around like the objects in Yves Tanguy’s landscapes: meaninglessly significant fetishes of media art. Ya-Wen Fu will wear one of her wonderful Beckett Bondage constructions and, beset by this new spinning apparatus, her usual posture will be changed first and then ours. A performance between Ya-Wen Fu and Charles Washington in collaboration with Daniel Romero and Bert Palm. An event of the CYNETART 2020 in cooperation with the Kunstraum GEH8.

Supported by: chin chin pottery and Perkūnas Studio.

The public presentation is supported by the Cultural Foundation of the Free State of Saxony and the Ministry of Culture Taiwan.

Ya-Wen Fu was born in Taiwan in 1980 and now lives and works in Taiwan, Berlin and Leipzig, where she received her master’s degree in media art at the Academy of Visual Arts in Taiwan. The focus of Ya-Wen Fu’ work is the relationship between body and space. The artist deals with this relationship not only by depicting individuals in their environment, but also by locating it within a differentiated concept and critically analyzing the individual in space. She thematizes the space in which we feel and act, the space in which the perceiving ego exists, and investigates the question of where the boundaries between the individual and the environment lie.

http://www.bearfuinberlin.com/     http://cynetart.org

 

DATE: 10.10.20
LOCATION: GEH8 Kunstraum
START: 20 Uhr

 

Within the framework of the CYNETART Festival 2018, the Saxon State Ministry of Science and Art (SMWK) in cooperation with the Office for Culture and Monument Protection of the State Capital Dresden) has awarded the Artist-in Residence Scholarship to Ya-Wen Fu for the realization of her artistic work “Ein verwandelter Wurf”. After an artist-in-residence at the TMA Hellerau in 2019, the final work will now be presented for the first time at the Kunstraum GEH8 and subsequently at the POCHEN Biennale Chemnitz as well as at the Municipal Art Museum Taipei.

Ya-Wen Fu – „Metamorphose“

Ya-Wen Fu „Metamorphose“
Interaktive Installations-Performance
Metall, Holz, Leder, Acrylglas, Motor und Sensor
2019-2021

Ya-Wen Fu gestaltet unsentimental aseptische Medienräume, in denen Riemen zu Vektoren werden und Screens und andere Artefakte der Medienkunst herumstehen wie die Objekte in den Landschaften Yves Tanguys: sinnlos bedeutsame Fetische der Medienkunst. Ya-Wen Fu wird eine ihrer wunderbaren Beckett-Bondage-Konstruktionen tragen und bedrängt von diesem neuen Gespinstapparat, wird erst ihre gewohnte Haltung verändert und dann auch unsere. Eine Performance zwischen Ya-Wen Fu und Charles Washington in Zusammenarbeit mit Daniel Romero und Bert Palm. Eine Veranstaltung der CYNETART 2020 in Kooperation mit dem Kunstraum GEH8.

Unterstützt durch: chin chin pottery und Perkūnas Studio.

Die öffentliche Präsentation wird gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen sowie dem Ministerium für Kultur Taiwan.

Ya-Wen Fu wurde 1980 in Taiwan geboren und lebt und arbeitet mittlerweile in Taiwan, Berlin und Leipzig, wo sie an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst ihren Meisterschülerabschluss in der Fachklasse für Medienkunst erhielt. Den Schwerpunkt von Ya-Wen Fu‘ Arbeit bildet das Verhältnis von Körper und Raum. Mit diesem Verhältnis befasst sich die Künstlerin nicht nur auf dem Wege der Darstellung von Individuen in ihrer Umgebung, vielmehr verortet sie es innerhalb eines differenzierten Konzepts und nimmt eine kritische Analyse des Individuums im Raum vor. Sie thematisiert den Raum, in dem wir fühlen und handeln, den Raum, in dem das wahrnehmende Ich existiert, und geht der Frage nach, wo die Grenzen zwischen Individuum und Umgebung verlaufen.

http://www.bearfuinberlin.com/     http://cynetart.org

 

WANN: 10.10.20
WO: GEH8 Kunstraum
START: 20 Uhr

Im Rahmen des CYNETART Festivals 2018 hat das Sächsische Staatsministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst (SMWK) in Kooperation mit dem Amt für Kultur und Denkmalschutz der Landeshauptstadt Dresden) das Artist-in Residence-Stipendium an Ya-Wen Fu für die Umsetzung ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit „Ein verwandelter Wurf“ vergeben. Nach einer Artist-Residency an der TMA Hellerau in 2019, wird die finale Arbeit nunmehr im Kunstraum GEH8 und im Anschluss auf der POCHEN Biennale Chemnitz sowie im Städtischen Kunstmuseum Taipeh erstmalig präsentiert.