4th Verstärker Art-Film-Festival: Participants

From June 17 – 18, 2022, the GEH8 Art and Culture Center in Dresden will host the 4th Amplifier Art Film Festival and present the Amplifier Award as part of it. The film festival is aimed at students from the new German states. In a public screening on June 18, 2022, visitors and a jury of experts are invited to vote for their favorite.
                   

                                              JURY

Jana Endruschat studied Media & Communication Science and has always been connected to the Saxon film scene. For more than 10 years she produced image and industrial films and worked at least as long in the production department for national and international feature film productions. As a trainee in the funding department she got to know the mechanisms of the Central German Media Funding & was able to expand her moving image spectrum at Werkleitzgesellschaft e.V. in the Center for Media Art. 2013-2018 she was responsible for communication & network at Filmverband Sachsen. In 2019-2021 she took over the management.

Alexandra Meißner was born in Hoyerswerda in 1983 and studied sociology and communication science in Dresden. From 2008 she worked for the International Filmfest Dresden and was a member of the festival management for seven years. She is active as a freelance programmer and lecturer and advises film and cultural projects in the areas of production, development and mediation. Since 2019, she has been an officer for program support and communication at the Cultural Foundation of the Free State of Saxony, where she coordinates, among other things, the international residency programs and the Small Projects Fund for Rural Areas.

Michael Merkel, born in 1987 in Dresden, studied German language and literature, cultural studies and art history in Dresden and Wroclaw after training as a wood sculptor. He also studied free art at the Academy in Wroclaw and at the Bauhaus University in Weimar. In addition to the implementation of curatorial projects, he has exhibited several times in Germany and abroad. He has been awarded various grants as well as project funding for his artistic work and has been working as coordinator program planning and public relations at GEH8 Kunstraum Dresden since 2018. He initiated the Amplifier Art-Film Festival in 2019, which he has also coordinated since then.

                                        PROGRAMM

Friday, June 17, 2022
International Films + Art.Space.Concert
Start: 6:30 pm
Where: GEH8

Saturday, June 18, 2022

Short films + award ceremony Gala show with live music + afterparty
Start: 6 pm
Where: GEH8

                                     PARTICIPANTS

 

Bauhaus-Universität / Weimar:

 

NINA OELLER with TRIBUTE TO THE MOMENT

About the feeling of exchanging the total freedom of youth for responsibility and consideration – and what is perhaps not so bad about it.

MARCUS GRYSCZOK with KLIMAFAKTEN

Modern global warming is catapulting us out of the stable climate of the Holocene into unmapped waters. Warming is caused by fossil fuel use, and to a lesser extent by agriculture and deforestation. The consequences of warming include more frequent and severe extreme events, such as deadly heat waves, devastating droughts, heavy rains with flooding, or more violent tropical cyclones, … in addition, a rise in sea level due to melting continental ice and thermal expansion of sea water. Many millions of people are already suffering from these climate impacts. We can stop global warming by stopping the emission of greenhouse gases, especially carbon dioxide. This was unanimously agreed for good reasons by almost all countries at the Paris Agreement, which has the goal of keeping global warming well below the 2 degree limit. If possible even below 1.5 degrees. Today we are already at 1.2 degrees global warming.

KRISTIN JAKUBEK with A TOOTHLESS GRIN

The video work ‘A toothless grin’ refers to the idea of an uneasy void in our everyday lives caused by constant digital media consumption and the corresponding increasing alienation from the natural world. An experimental video format explores how digital media has shaped and changed our relationship with, representation of, and experience of nature. Using a variety of art forms and genres, including performance art, fashion, poetry, and music video, a narrative unfolds about humanity’s alienation from nature as a result of progressive, total absorption into ‘the digital’. The natural world is increasingly mechanized, deformed, and abstracted; the creative techniques used range from drone footage to computer-generated images created through the use of machine learning in the form of Generative Adversarial Network (GAN) technology.

FUCHANG YANG with IN THE BOX

I wanted to show a boy who is afraid of his parents’ excessive attention. In the boy’s eyes, his parents are monsters with only eyes. Their eyes follow him all the time and the sight of them holds him captive. Finally, the boy closes himself inside and becomes a complete box.

BUBA BEBOSHVILI with SUNDAY ON THE MOON

Experimental short film follows main character Jola as she is getting ready to depart from the planet earth after its complete destruction. Viewer sees her as a fragile, vulnerable character who desperately seeks possibilities which don’t cause overly drastic changes. In the confused state Jola remembers everything she loved and appreciated in the past life. Sunday is last weekday and represents the last chapter of the story. When the final decision should be made. She wants to leave but where is the conflict. Comparing the title to film its self brings us to something very abstract and main concept stands on overcoming challenges, getting out of comfort zone and trying out unexplored spaces. As the process evolves we face the consequences of dealing with tough times. Overthinking, anxiety that comes with it, going back to roots and resolve everything from there.

BENJAMIN & ELISABETH GEYER with ERMO

Stormy sea, two dark figures, a fall into wild floods and into the magical arms of the deep ocean. ERMO is an animated music video for the song of the same name by Benshi. In a dark atmosphere and with mysterious sounds, this crime fairy tale draws us under its spell.

BELA MORITZ & AARON MÖBIUS with SOLIST

Mensa Jürgen, cook in the university cafeteria Erfurt, all-round entertainer and DJ, is probably the best known personality in the capital of Thuringia. Due to his omnipresence in bars and clubs, pretty much everyone has joined Jürgen for a beer. Since the beginning of 2020, however, everything Jürgen can identify with has suddenly disappeared. Now that he has to spend more time at home, he finally digs out his old VHS tapes full of memories he had almost forgotten.

ANNA RHYZKOVA with A PART OF ME

Moving to another country can feel like landing on a new planet. What is it like to lose a part of yourself but gain another?

 

HfBK Dresden:

 

KATHRIN FRECH with LEBERWURST – AUS DEM ALBUM “IM FLEISCHLICHT” VON SCHOARFI SCHOARF OLÉ

The space station of a formerly ambitious, highly funded prestige project reports back to earth after a long time of disappearance in the form of an intergalactic concept album.
back on earth. On board: Three mustachioed astronauts, off to miss the world for a long time.
to miss the world, long forgotten, eating snack! A musical morsel from IM FLEISCHLICHT is served – without pickles, because the sausage fight is real!

 

HGB Leipzig:

 

THERESA MÜNNICH with FRAGMENTED HOME

A home is a place of security in an uncertain world, a place of certainty in doubt, a familiar place in a strange world, a sacred place in a profane world. Anna had to leave her home because a war started in her homeland. Every night she sums up what she is experiencing until she finally decides to leave the country.

MAJA BÜHLER with DIE DRITTE HAUT

They also say “your own four walls”, the ones between which you simply disappear, like behind the falling curtain after the show. No gaze can follow you here, no offer can tempt you, no storm can sweep you away. You close the door, you take off your masks and costumes and let yourself go, you love and scream and play and cry. Here no one will hear you, no one will ever bother you, you are alone in your own 4 walls, your third skin. (2D stopmotion, paper and watercolor,sound by Moist Handshakes and Florian Illig)

CELIA IBAÑEZ LAMUÑO with URBAN JUNGLE – DIE ZIMMERPFLANZE NIMMT PLATZ

Monster grass, philodendrons, pileas, yucca palms and many, many more decorate our homes these days. We bring greenery into our homes, feel connected to nature, but have you ever wondered where your houseplants come from? And, how did they actually get into our homes? Today, this trend is called, Urban Jungle. About this and the origin of the houseplant tells this animated film.

 

Hochschule Mittweida:

 

JONAS ERLER with VAKUUM

Inhale. Exhale. We free ourselves from gravity and escape from reality. We are weightless, free. Everything becomes VACUUM.

 

Kunsthochschule Berlin Weißensee:

 

ANNA SWAGERMAN with INNER LANDSCAPES: PASAIJES INTERNOS

‘Inner Landscapes’ is filmed on the private property where renowned Spanish painter ANTONI TAPIES created his oeuvre. His studio is surrounded by nature, facing the Black Mountain. I was granted permission by Tapies’ daughter to document this special place. The voice-over represents various people I encountered. “Matter is like a mirror. When I watch the landscape, there’s a change inside.”

JOHANNA KRAHÉ with RUSTY TIMES

A poetic, surreal tale, of a “streetcar cook” who experiences the creeping change of his environment and fails because of it. The motifs used are largely taken from the dream diaries of my father, who has been drawing his dreams for almost 60 years. With the means of collage I enter into a dialogue with the dreams of my father.

 

UdK Berlin:

 

JEANA KOLESOVA with MEDITATION BEFORE A PROTEST

Video deals with the fear of a totalitarian state, a repressive system, police violence, risk of arrests during protests and criminal penalty in Russia. Video created in a form of meditation which prepares for facing and resisting the system’s violence in the real world.
 

 

Burg Giebichenstein:

 

LUKAS KAPPMEIER with SELF MADE MAN

A suit digs a lonely hole in the middle of a newly tendered industrial park. Even after years, he seems to have made no progress. How can he make himself into something?

LEON MESCHEDE with NON PLUS ULTRA

We present: NON PLUS ULTRA (Eng: Always on), a flood protection concept for the Dresden Sculpture Collection. The path to immortality leads along numerous references, such as Mercedes Benz’ G-Class, Dr. Simon Ourian, Kim Khardashian’s dermatologist, or the Pillars of Heracles.

 

Our Guest: COLUMBUS COLLEGE OF ART & DESIGN

Graham Squire mit HANDS

Gwenth Keith mit GRAVY TAXI

Rin Navarro mit THE RITUAL

Roy Davila Jr. mit SANTIFICADO

 

Our Guest: UNIVERSITY OF OSTRAVA

Evy Gargašové – SLEPICE HENS

Filip Tichý – TWISTED TALES OF THREE PIGLETS

Filip Antoniazi – GOTHAM CITY

Štěpán Wilkus

Viktória Madasnká

ART BASS

FOTBALOFOBIE

 

In cooperation with:

        

 
 
Supported by Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien.

4. Verstärker Kunst-Film-Festival

Die Auswahl steht!
Hier findet ihr alle Teilnehmer/-innen unseres 4. Verstärker Kunst-Film-Festivals, das vom 17. – 18. Juni 2022 in der GEH8 stattfindet.

 

                                          PROGRAMM

Freitag, 17. Juni 2022
Internationale Filme + Kunst.Raum.Konzert
Beginn: 18:30 Uhr
Wo: GEH8

Samstag, 18. Juni 2022
Kurzfilme + Preisvergabe, Galashow mit Livemusik
Beginn: 18 Uhr
Wo: GEH8

Eintritt: Spende wird erbeten

                                   TEILNEHMER/-INNEN

 

Bauhaus-Universität / Weimar:

 

NINA OELLER mit TRIBUTE TO THE MOMENT

Von dem Gefühl, die totale Freiheit der Jugend gegen Verantwortung und Rücksicht einzutauschen- und was daran vielleicht gar nicht so schlecht ist.

MARCUS GRYSCZOK mit KLIMAFAKTEN

Durch die moderne Globale Erwärmung katapultieren wir uns aus dem stabilen Klima des Holozäns hinaus in unkartierte Gewässer. Die Erwärmung ist verursacht durch die Nutzung Fossiler Brennstoffe, sowie zu einem kleineren Teil durch Landwirtschaft und Entwaldung. Zu den Folgen der Erwärmung gehören häufigere und heftigere Extrem – Ereignisse, wie tödliche Hitzewellen, verheerende Dürren, Starkregen mit Überflutungen oder heftigere tropische Wirbelstürme, … außerdem ein Anstieg des Meeresspiegels auf Grund des schmelzenden Kontinentaleises und der thermischen Ausdehnung des Meerwassers. Viele Millionen Menschen leiden bereits heute unter diesem Klimafolgen. Stoppen können wir die Globale Erwärmung, in dem wir den Anstoß von Klimagasen, insbesondere Kohlendioxid einstellen. Das wurde aus guten Gründen einstimmig von fast allen Ländern beim Pariser Abkommen beschlossen, dass das Ziel hat die Globale Erwärmung deutlich unter der 2 Grad Grenze zu halten. Wenn möglich sogar unter 1.5 Grad. Heute liegen wir bereits bei 1.2 Grad globale Erwärmung.

KRISTIN JAKUBEK mit A TOOTHLESS GRIN

Die Videoarbeit ‘A toothless grin’ (ein zahnloses Grinsen) bezieht sich auf die Idee einer unbehaglichen Leere in unserem Alltag, die durch den ständigen digitalen Medienkonsum und der damit korrespondierenden, zunehmenden Entfremdung von der natürlichen Welt verursacht wird. In einem experimentellen Videoformat wird untersucht, wie digitale Medien unsere Beziehung zur Natur, ihre Darstellung und die Erfahrung dieser, geformt und verändert haben. Unter Verwendung verschiedener Kunstformen und Genres, wie Performance-Art, Mode, Poesie und Musikvideo, entfaltet sich eine Erzählung über die Entfremdung des Menschen von der Natur als Folge einer fortschreitenden, vollkommenen Absorption in ‘das Digitale’. Die natürliche Welt wird zunehmend mechanisiert, deformiert und abstrahiert; die verwendeten gestalterischen Techniken reichen von Drohnen-Aufnahmen bis hin zu computergenerierten Bildern, die durch den Einsatz von maschinellem Lernen in Form der GAN-Technologie (Generative Adversarial Network) entstehen.

FUCHANG YANG mit IN THE BOX

Ich wollte einen Jungen zeigen, der sich vor der übermäßigen Aufmerksamkeit seiner Eltern fürchtet. In den Augen des Jungen sind seine Eltern Monster mit nur Augen. Ihre Augen folgen ihm die ganze Zeit und ihr Anblick hält ihn gefangen. Schließlich verschließt sich der Junge in seinem Inneren und wird zu einer vollständigen Schachtel.

BUBA BEBOSHVILI mit SUNDAY ON THE MOON

Der experimentelle Kurzfilm folgt der Hauptfigur Jola, die sich darauf vorbereitet, den Planeten Erde nach dessen vollständiger Zerstörung zu verlassen. Der Zuschauer sieht sie als zerbrechlichen, verletzlichen Charakter, der verzweifelt nach Möglichkeiten sucht, die keine allzu drastischen Veränderungen verursachen. In dem verwirrten Zustand erinnert sich Jola an alles, was sie in ihrem früheren Leben geliebt und geschätzt hat. Der Sonntag ist der letzte Wochentag und stellt das letzte Kapitel der Geschichte dar. Wenn die endgültige Entscheidung getroffen werden soll. Sie will gehen, aber wo ist der Konflikt. Der Vergleich des Titels mit dem Film selbst bringt uns zu etwas sehr Abstraktem, und das Hauptkonzept besteht darin, Herausforderungen zu überwinden, aus der Komfortzone herauszukommen und unerforschte Räume auszuprobieren. Im Laufe des Prozesses werden wir mit den Konsequenzen konfrontiert, die der Umgang mit schwierigen Zeiten mit sich bringt. Das Überdenken, die Angst, die damit einhergeht, das Zurückgehen zu den Wurzeln und das Lösen von Problemen von dort aus.

BENJAMIN & ELISABETH GEYER mit ERMO

Stürmische See, zwei dunkle Gestalten, ein Sturz in wilde Fluten und in die magischen Arme des tiefen Ozeans. ERMO ist ein animiertes Musikvideo zu dem gleichnamigen Song von Benshi. In düsterer Atmosphäre und mit geheimnisvollen Klängen zieht uns dieses Kriminal Märchen in seinen Bann.

BELA MORITZ & AARON MÖBIUS mit SOLIST

Mensa Jürgen, Koch in der Universitätsmensa Erfurt, Allround-Entertainer und DJ, ist die wohl bekannteste Persönlichkeit in der Hauptstadt Thüringens. Durch seine Omnipräsenz in den Bars und Klubs hat so ziemlich jeder schon mal mit Jürgen zusammen auf ein Bier angestoßen. Seit Anfang 2020 ist jedoch alles, mit dem sich Jürgen identifizieren kann, auf einmal verschwunden. Da er nun mehr Zeit Zuhause verbringen muss, kramt er schließlich seine alten VHS Kassetten voll mit Erinnerungen aus, die er schon beinahe vergessen hatte.

ANNA RYZHKOVA mit A PART OF ME

In ein anderes Land zu ziehen, kann sich anfühlen, wie auf einem neuen Planeten zu landen. Wie ist es, einen Teil von sich zu verlieren, aber einen anderen dazu zu gewinnen?

 

HfBK Dresden:

 

KATHRIN FRECH mit LEBERWURST – AUS DEM ALBUM „IM FLEISCHLICHT“ VON SCHOARFI SCHOARF OLÉ

Die Raumstation eines ehemals ambitionierten, hochkarätig geförderten Prestigeprojekts meldet sich nach längerer Verschollenheit in Form eines intergalaktischen Konzeptalbums
wieder auf der Erde zurück. An Board: Drei schnurrbärtige Astronaut:innen, losgefahren
um die Welt zu vermissen, lange vergessen, Jause essen! Es wird ein musikalisches Häppchen aus IM FLEISCHLICHT serviert – ohne Gürkchen, denn, der Wurst-Fight is Real!

 

HGB Leipzig:

 

THERESA MÜNNICH mit FRAGMENTED HOME

Ein Zuhause ist ein Ort der Sicherheit in einer unsicheren Welt, ein Ort der Gewissheit im Zweifel, ein vertrauter Ort in einer fremden Welt, ein heiliger Ort in einer profanen Welt. Anna musste ihr Zuhause verlassen, weil ein Krieg in ihrer Heimat begonnen hat. Jede Nacht resumiert sie über das was sie erlebt, bis sie sich schließlich entscheidet das Land zu verlassen.

MAJA BÜHLER mit DIE DRITTE HAUT

Man sagt auch „die eigenen vier Wände“, die, zwischen denen du einfach verschwindest, wie hinter dem fallenden Vorhang nach der Show. Kein Blick kann dir hierher folgen, kein Angebot dich verlocken, kein Sturm dich mitreißen. Du schließt die Tür, du legst deine Masken und Kostüme ab und lässt dich gehen, du liebst und schreist und spielst und weinst. Hier wird dich keiner hören, keiner dich je stören, du bist allein in deinen eigenen 4 Wänden, deiner dritten Haut. (2D Stopmotion, Papier und Aquarell,Sound von Moist Handshakes und Florian Illig)

CELIA IBAÑEZ LAMUÑO mit URBAN JUNGLE – DIE ZIMMERPFLANZE NIMMT PLATZ

Monsterras, Philodendren, Pileas, Yucca Palmen und viele, viele mehr schmücken heutzutage unsere Wohnungen. Wir bringen das Grüne in unser Zuhause, fühlen uns der Natur verbunden, aber hast du dich schon mal gefragt, wo deine Zimmerpflanzen herkommen? Und, wie kamen sie eigentlich in unsere Wohnung? Heute nennt sich dieser Trend, Urban Jungle. Über dies und dem Ursprung der Zimmerpflanze erzählt dieser Animationsfilm.

 

Hochschule Mittweida:

 

JONAS ERLER mit VAKUUM

Einatmen. Ausatmen. Wir befreien uns von der Schwerkraft und flüchten aus der Wirklichkeit. Wir sind schwerelos, frei. Alles wird VAKUUM.

 

Kunsthochschule Berlin Weißensee:

 

ANNA SWAGERMAN mit INNER LANDSCAPES: PASAIJES INTERNOS

„Inner Landscapes“ wird auf dem Privatgrundstück gedreht, auf dem der bekannte spanische Maler ANTONI TAPIES sein Werk schuf. Sein Atelier liegt mitten in der Natur, mit Blick auf den Schwarzen Berg. Ich erhielt die Erlaubnis von Tapies‘ Tochter, diesen besonderen Ort zu dokumentieren. Das Voice-over repräsentiert verschiedene Personen, denen ich begegnet bin. „Die Materie ist wie ein Spiegel. Wenn ich die Landschaft betrachte, verändert sich das Innere.“

JOHANNA KRAHÉ mit RUSTY TIMES

Eine poetische, surreale Erzählung, eines „Straßenbahn-Kochs“, der den schleichenden Wandel seiner Umwelt erlebt und daran scheitert. Die verwendeten Motive sind zum großen Teil den Traumtagebüchern meines Vaters entnommen, der seit nahezu 60 Jahren seine Träume zeichnet. Mit Mitteln der Collage trete ich mit den Träumen meines Vaters in einen Dialog.

 

UdK Berlin:

 

JEANA KOLESOVA mit MEDITATION BEFORE A PROTEST

Das Video befasst sich mit der Angst vor einem totalitären Staat, einem repressiven System, Polizeigewalt, der Gefahr von Verhaftungen bei Protesten und strafrechtlichen Sanktionen in Russland. Das Video wurde in Form einer Meditation erstellt, die darauf vorbereitet, sich der Gewalt des Systems in der realen Welt zu stellen und zu widersetzen.
 

 

Burg Giebichenstein:

 

LUKAS KAPPMEIER mit SELF MADE MAN

Ein Anzugträger gräbt ein einsames Loch, mitten im neu ausgeschriebenen Gewerbegebiet. Auch nach Jahren scheint er nicht vorangekommen zu sein. Wie kann er sich zu etwas machen?

LEON MESCHEDE mit NON PLUS ULTRA

Wir stellen vor: NON PLUS ULTRA (dt. Immer weiter), ein Hochwasserschutzkonzept für die Dresdner Skulpturensammlung. Der Weg in die Unsterblichkeit führt entlang Vielzahl von Referenzen, wie Mercedes Benz‘ G-Klasse, Dr. Simon Ourian, dem Dermatologen von Kim Khardashian oder den Säulen des Herakles.

 

zu Gast: Columbus College of Art & Design

Graham Squire mit HANDS

Gwenth Keith mit GRAVY TAXI

Rin Navarro mit THE RITUAL

Roy Davila Jr. mit SANTIFICADO

 

zu Gast: UNIVERSITY OF OSTRAVA

Evy Gargašové – SLEPICE HENS

Filip Tichý – TWISTED TALES OF THREE PIGLETS

Filip Antoniazi – GOTHAM CITY

Štěpán Wilkus

Viktória Madasnká

ART BASS

FOTBALOFOBIE

 

  JURY

Alexandra Meißner wurde 1983 in Hoyerswerda geboren und studierte Soziologie und Kommunikationswissenschaft in Dresden. Ab 2008 arbeitete sie für das Internationale Filmfest Dresden und war sieben Jahre Mitglied der Festivalleitung. Sie ist freiberuflich als Programmgestalterin und Dozentin aktiv und berät Film- und Kulturprojekte in den Bereichen Produktion, Entwicklung und Vermittlung. Seit 2019 ist sie bei der Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen Referentin für Programmförderung und Kommunikation und koordiniert hier u.a. die internationalen Residenzprogramme und den Kleinprojektefonds für den ländlichen Raum. 

Christian Zimmermann erblickte 1975 in Leipzig das Licht der Welt. Nach einem Studium in zeitgenössischem Tanz Anfang der 90er und beruflichen Ausflügen in verschiedenste Bereiche arbeitete er seit 2005 als freier Projektmanager. Er leitete von 2011 – 2017 den Filmverband Sachsen e.V. und agiert seit 2019 als freier Locationscout und Produktionsberater mit Schwerpunkt Mitteldeutschland. Hier findet er vor allem für internationale Kinofilme geeignete Drehorte.

Michael Merkel, geb. 1987 in Dresden, studierte nach einer Ausbildung zum Holzbildhauer Germanistik, Kulturwissenschaften und Kunstgeschichte in Dresden und Breslau. Zudem studierte er Freie Kunst an der Akademie Breslau und an der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar. Neben der Umsetzung kuratorischer Projekte stellte er bereits mehrfach im In- und Ausland aus. Er wurde ausgezeichnet mit verschiedenen Stipendien sowie Projektförderungen für sein künstlerisches Schaffen und arbeitet seit 2018 als Koordinator Programmplanung und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit im GEH8 Kunstraum Dresden. Er initiierte 2019 das Verstärker Kunst-Film-Festival, das er seither auch koordiniert.

 

In Kooperation mit:

        

 
 
Gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien.