Soirée Électrique Au Café Américain: HOBO UFO meets “ ”

4 pm:

Book launch and discussion:
James Hoff in conversation with Marian Kaiser, Adam Gibbons und Eva Wilson.

6 pm:

JAMES HOFF plays live: HOBO UFO DRESDEN

Start of the event

10/21/2018 4:00 PM

 

 

 

In cooperation with DAVE Festival

New York-based musician, artist, and publisher James Hoff, Berlin- and Kinshasa-based media theorist Marian Kaiser, artist and writer Adam Gibbons, and curator and writer Eva Wilson (both London) invite the audience in Dresden to a shared discussion that revolves around contemporary channels of distribution and their potentials to be harnessed, infected, or disturbed.

More than that, the panellists, taking their cue from their recent publication in the series “ ” (quotation mark quotation mark), ask themselves, each other, and the audience an urgent question: what or whom should we be listening to?

The conversation will take place in German and English. After the conversation, James Hoff will play the live set HOBO UFO DRESDEN.

“ ” is a new book series, published by NERO. It looks at forms and roles of publishing as and within artists’ practices: as circulation, dissemination, spamming, print, data, language, infection, fashion, networks, disturbance, myth, parasiting, and infiltration. Their new publication James Hoff in conversation with Marian Kaiser is on tour right now: instead of simply “presenting” the book, we ask audiences and guests in different cities to discuss the topics at hand. After events in Berlin, New York, and London, various guests from Dresden’s art scene and universities are invited to join the conversation at geh8 to create a temporary network/feedback loop/distribution channel.

Pictures from the event

Fotos: © pidelta.de

Artist Links:

Instagram James Hoff:
https://www.instagram.com/_james_hoff/
Website James Hoff:
http://james-hoff.com

Website “ ”:
http://www.quotationmarkquotationmark.com
Instagram “ ”
https://www.instagram.com/explore/tags/quotationmarkquotationmark/

Instagram Adam Gibbons:
https://www.instagram.com/a.d.a.m.g.i.b.b.o.n.s/

Soirée Électrique Au Café Américain: HOBO UFO meets “ ”

 

 

 

In Kooperation mit dem DAVE Festival

Der New Yorker Musiker, Künstler und Verleger James Hoff, der Medientheoretiker Marian Kaiser(Berlin/Kinshasa), der Künstler und Autor Adam Gibbons und die Kuratorin und Autorin Eva Wilson (beide London) laden verschiedene Dresdner Gäste und das Publikum ein, gemeinsam über zeitgenössische Distributionskanäle und Mediensysteme zu diskutieren – und darüber, wie diese nutzbar gemacht, infiziert oder gestört werden können.

Ausgehend von ihrer neuen Publikation in der Reihe “ ” (quotation mark quotation mark) stellen die Podiumsteilnehmer*innen sich, einander und dem Publikum die dringende Frage: Was oder wem sollten wir zuhören?

Das Gespräch findet auf Deutsch und Englisch statt. Nach dem Gespräch spielt James Hoff das für den Event komponierte Live-Set HOBO UFO DRESDEN.

Die bei NERO verlegte Buchreihe “ ” beschäftigt sich mit Formen und Rollen des Publizierens als (oder als Teil) künstlerischer Praxis. Ihre jüngste Publikation James Hoff in conversation with Marian Kaiser ist gerade auf Tournee. Anstatt das Buch einfach zu präsentieren, laden wir Publikum und Gäste in verschiedenen Städten ein, mit uns die Themen der Buchreihe zu diskutieren: Zirkulation, Spamming, Drucken, Daten, Sprache, Infektion, Mode, Netzwerke, Störung, Mythos, Parasitierung und Infiltration. Nach Veranstaltungen in Berlin, New York und London haben wir nun verschiedene Gäste aus der Dresdner Kunstszene und Universitätslandschaft eingeladen, sich in der geh8 zu einem temporären Netzwerk/Feedback-Loop/Distributionskanal zusammenzuschließen.

Bilder von der Veranstaltung

[Not a valid template]

Fotos: © pidelta.de

Artist Links:

Instagram James Hoff:
https://www.instagram.com/_james_hoff/
Website James Hoff:
http://james-hoff.com

Website “ ”:
http://www.quotationmarkquotationmark.com
Instagram “ ”
https://www.instagram.com/explore/tags/quotationmarkquotationmark/

Instagram Adam Gibbons:
https://www.instagram.com/a.d.a.m.g.i.b.b.o.n.s/